Dodging Raindrops

 

Meadow01

Kelly’s has a meadow of self-seeding and planted perennials. There are paths through the meadow and into the forest beyond

Bleedinghearts

Old-fashioned Bleeding Heart (Dicentra spectablis) blooms, close up

Peonyleaves

 Raindrops on a intersectional peony hybrid

Tulip

Tulips close their leaves when it rains

Daisies

Daisies

 

Pictures from my annual trip with my friend Steve to Kelly and Kelly Nursery, Long Lake Minnesota. It was cool and rainy that day — perfect for taking plant pictures.

Each spring I set aside a few days to visit local, family-owned nurseries. I like to pick up a few plants, but since each of these places has a local garden, its also a great way to get some garden touring in. Kelly’s has a few of the harder to find plants. I wasn’t disappointed this visit; I scored some rare Thalictrum hybrids for my shade garden.

 

 

Leave a Reply

