“Hallelujah, Danke Schoen”

Img_0010

REVEALED: k.d. lang Is Wayne Newton’s son! Can we expect a ‘ Hallelujah, Danke Schoen’ duet? A mix?

Danke Schoen, Darling, Danke Schoen.
Thank you for all the joy and pain.
Picture shows, second balcony, was the place we’d meet,
Second seat, go Dutch treat, you were sweet.

Hallelujah
Hallelujah
Hallelujah
Hallelujah

Danke Schoen, Darling, Danke Schoen.
Save those lies, Darling don’t explain.
I recall, Central Park in fall.
How you tore your dress, what a mess, I confess.
That’s not all.

Hallelujah
Hallelujah
Hallelujah
Hallelujah

Danke Schoen, Darling, Danke Schoen.
Thank you for walks down Lover’s Lane.
I can see, hearts carved on a tree.
Letters inter-twined, for all time, yours and mine, that was fine.


Hallelujah

Hallelujah
Hallelujah
Hallelujah

Danke Schoen, Darling, Danke Schoen.
Thank you for seeing me again.
Though we go on our seperate ways,
Still the memory stays, for always, my heart says, Danke Schoen.

Hallelujah
Hallelujah
Hallelujah
Hallelujah

Danke Schoen, Oh Darling, Danke Schoen.
I said, Thank you for seeing me again.
Though we go- on our seperate ways,
Still the memory stays, for always, my heart says, Danke Schoen.

Danke Schoen, Auf Wiedersehn, Danke Schoen

Hallelujah, Hallelujah
Hallelujah, Hallelujah
Hallelujah, Hallelujah
Hallelujah, Hallelujah
Hallelujah, Hallelujah
Hallelujah, Hallelujah
Hallelujah, Hallelujah
Hallelujah, Hallelujah
Hallelujah

2 comments

  1. I noticed several years ago when an oldies station played Danke Schoen that their voices are very similar and that k. d. would be able to make an exact copy of the song. Then I realized that they actually resemble each other. They did a piece on Wayne on CBS Sunday Morning today and I decided to Google the two names together to see if anyone else had made the connection and was pleased to have my observations verified by so many others. I feel that k.d. would be up for a duet, but I doubt if Wayne would go for it.

  2. Here’s how I made the connection. My wife called me into the room where she was was watching the Olympics opening ceremony. “John, that strange man has the most beautiful *woman’s* voice.” I recognized Ms. lang right away. Then we both remembered Wayne Newton who also had a beautiful, but feminine voice.

    Next day, running errands in the car, I heard ‘Danke Schoen’ on The Current. There are no coincidences! I felt compelled to blog this a little later.

    I’m sure lang would be up for a duet. She’s done that with Tony Bennett, as you probably know. But I would be surprised if Newton went along with the idea. As you know, he no longer sings with the girly tones. He got sick of all the comments, so he redid his image and repertoire into a more masculine Las Vegas shtick years ago.

    It’s odd how the two are similar in many ways, and so far apart in others.


Leave a Reply

